Steve Sheppard Photography Blog

PAW Week 9

with one comment

This week’s PAW photo wasn’t really shot this week, but I developed one of the rolls that I had shot previously.

I have many undeveloped rolls of film. This week, just for fun, I decided to develop one of the rolls for my PAW. I had no idea what was on the roll.

This is what I found… Carlisle’s Halloween Carnival, a Martinsville football game, friends at our home, a bar in some restaurant, Mattie in a hotel room, me in my office and finally my feet while I was watching the American Masters episode about Robert Capa. The roll was from two years ago.

Street Photographer Garry Winogrand died in 1984 and left behind 2,500 undeveloped rolls of film. I have read that he preferred to wait at least a year to develop a roll after he shot it so that he lost an emotional tie to the photographs and could judge them based on merit.

I certainly don’t have 2,500 rolls sitting around, but it is fun to develop one when you don’t know what’s on it. I’m fairly certain this roll was shot with a Leica M6 that I was carrying around at the time.

The photo I selected is of course my feet while I was watching the program on Capa. There was also a photo of my wife Mattie in a witch hat and hair at the Halloween Carnival. I thought about it, but not for long.

Written by stevesheppardphotography

May 5, 2008 at 4:53 pm

Posted in PAW

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I bet the photo of Mat in a witch hair and hair is, to use one of her words, darling.

    Never has one photo been more contradictory.

    Hank

    May 21, 2008 at 10:36 am


Leave a Reply

