Steve Sheppard Photography Blog

Speaking Of Football

with 4 comments

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Now that’s a killer on the football field.

About 10 years ago, Mike Wray at the Martinsville Bulletin gave me the photo. He found it in his desk.

Yes, that’s me. I was a hard charging, dedicated, bone crusher as a linebacker and offensive guard at Patrick County High School. Ya see that paint missing on the helmet. It was well deserved. I left the paint on someone’s nose. It was probably the nose of Gary Atkins from Drewey Mason High School. 

QUIT TALKING ABOUT MY HAIR! It was the 70’s. A few years after this photo was taken, I was a polyester pants, silk shirt wearing, disco dancing machine.

Just imagine that.

Written by stevesheppardphotography

September 28, 2008 at 1:24 am

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. If I had only known you then…..

    Mattie

    September 28, 2008 at 3:22 pm

  2. Wow, you look like a little girl on the middle school soccer team. Such pretty hair, such a pretty face.

    shelly

    September 29, 2008 at 8:54 am

  3. My dad finally made me cut my hair my senior year. This photo was from the 11th grade. There was a lady that had a beauty shop (of course that’s where I would go) within sight of our home so that’s where I went (we live in the hills so you couldn’t see more than 1000 feet in any direction). I could have thrown a rock to her house and the beauty shop was behind her home.

    I went to her and she just used a razor blade to cut that mess. After I graduated from Radford University, I went into the Marine Corps. So my hair as been at both extremes.

    stevesheppardphotography

    October 3, 2008 at 9:46 pm

  4. Only a brave man with a Marine background would dare to post such a picture during sweeps, Steve. Yikes!

    That has cold case file written all over it.

    “Guess whose head was inside this helmet?”

    Hankenstein

    October 7, 2008 at 3:55 pm


Leave a Reply

