Steve Sheppard Photography Blog

Believe It Or Not, It Still Works

leave a comment »

If you have been reading some of my recent posts, I have been discussing how much I love my wireless flash. 

Using the flash off camera creates more dramatic lighting, which makes portraits look much better. Well, today I had it mounted on top of a tripod during a senior portrait shoot. I should have known better with the wind gusting the way it was. 

Sure enough, the wind blew the tripod over and it landed on top of the flash. Looking at the photo you might think it would not work. But it did. Since I was using it wirelessly and not mounted to a camera hotshoe, it worked fine. 

I could try to just solder the wires back and superglue the foot on the flash. However, since I would be taking the chance of short-circuiting the flash and a camera I think I will just sent it to Olympus and have it fixed. It’s just another cost of doing business.

The last time I did any electrical work, I put a ceiling fan in the kitchen of my first home. When it was finished, I was very proud of myself. I turned the fan on and it worked.

I thought I was pretty smart until I swung open a cabinet door and heard thump, thump, thump, thump, thump.

Written by stevesheppardphotography

October 28, 2008 at 8:13 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

