Steve Sheppard Photography Blog

Happy Thanksgiving

with 4 comments

pb279259

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

pb270142

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I drove to my mom’s home in Patrick County this morning to have Thanksgiving breakfast with her. I stopped on the way back to shoot a photo of the barn. The donkey was posing so I got a photo of it also. He took a pretty keen interest in me, but didn’t bother to get up to say hello.

I’ve spent the rest of the day at home helping Mattie get ready for Thanksgiving dinner at our home. Thanksgiving is her favorite holiday. For that reason, I don’t schedule shoots on Thanksgiving Day despite getting requests. 

Mattie got up about 5 a.m. this morning to start getting ready. That meant I also had to crawl out of bed to get Harrell (our 21-pound turkey) out of the refrigerator in the basement and put him in a cooler of water to finish the thaw. Not long after having two cups of coffee and reading the Martinsville Bulletin, I left for Patrick County stopping along the way to grab some biscuits and gravy from Hardee’s to go along with the eggs mom was going to make. The doctor says Mom should not eat biscuits and gravy so I hope my sister doesn’t read this. She’s a nurse.

When I was in the sixth grade, I had my tonsils taken out. As luck would have it, they were taken out three days before Thanksgiving. About the only thing that could go down on Thanksgiving without hurting was cranberry sauce, and I don’t like the stuff. Since then, I have more than made up for that loss of Thanksgiving dinner and will do it again tonight. Sweet Potato Casserole is my favorite on Thanksgiving and thank goodness my mom gave Mattie the recipe.  

I hope you have a great Thanksgiving.

Written by stevesheppardphotography

November 27, 2008 at 3:54 pm

Posted in My personal stuff

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Shelly,
    I love the latest pic of Aunt Gertrude. She looks so relaxed!

    Mattie

    November 28, 2008 at 4:15 pm

  2. Yes I did read this Tsk! Tsk! Tsk! I know Mom enjoyed it. I am sure Harrell and the sweet potatoes were good.

    Donna

    November 30, 2008 at 1:40 pm

  3. Opps Shelly, I meant Aunt Pauline!

    Mattie

    December 1, 2008 at 1:20 pm

  4. Great Aunt Pauline has always been such an ….

    shelly

    December 4, 2008 at 1:18 pm


Leave a Reply

