Steve Sheppard Photography Blog

Day One With The Olympus E-P1

leave a comment »

I’ve been waiting for years for someone to make a small, big sensor digital camera. Today, I finally got one. The Olympus E-P1 is a digital camera that accepts interchangeable lenses that’s smaller than a Leica rangefinder and has a sensor that is the same size as my Olympus E-system DSLRs. It came with a 17mm F2.8 lens. It also came with an external viewfinder that mounts on the hotshoe which makes it a lot like shooting with with my Leica film camera.

I ordered the E-P1 yesterday and it arrived via UPS this morning. Since I was working on the Carlisle Lower School yearbook photos and was determined to finish them today, I didn’t take the E-P1 out of the box until about 3 p.m. this afternoon. I put the battery in the charger at 11 a.m. this morning and left the camera in the box as my reward for completing my scheduled work.

I finished the yearbook photos about 2:50 p.m., pulled the camera out, popped in the battery and a card and headed out the door to shoot two senior portraits in the studio. The first photo is of our little golden retriever welcome statue at the front door.

The second photos is in the studio. I shot the formal senior portraits and then we went outdoors to do some informals. After the shoot was completed, I called Mike Wray at the Martinsville Bulletin and was going to his office to show off the new little camera. He, however, was headed out to a political announcement. I figured that was a good place to try out the camera so I went. The final four photos are from the announcement.

That’s Mike on the right of the fourth photo taking a picture at the announcement – that handsome rascal.

P9110003

P9110018

P9110026

P9110035

P9110043

P9110045

Written by stevesheppardphotography

September 11, 2009 at 5:18 pm

Posted in Olympus E-P1

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

